Music as Therapy 2: The Swiftening

For my next post, I was originally going to write about making excuses as an alcoholic, and I will definitely still write about that soon, but I decided that you know what? That’s depressing, and I’m really tired of being depressed. I have been quite seriously depressed a lot lately and it’s boring. So instead, I’ve decided to write about something, or rather someone, who makes me happy. I’m sure you don’t even need to guess, even if the title of this post didn’t give it away.

The image in this screen-cap is a publicity still for her album ‘Red’. Yeah, I know that shit.

As my bio on every social network I use says, I am madly in love with Taylor Swift. Of course, not in a sense where I actually want to marry her, but- who am I kidding I totally want to marry Taylor Swift. And not just because she’s beautiful.

The funny thing is, while I knew Taylors name, I had never actually heard any of her music until my ex “Angela” (who I spoke of in my post about alcoholism and relationships) sent me a CD with one of her songs on it. That song was ‘Love Story’, and at the time I think it was intended to mean something about our relationship. I say it’s funny just because it’s strange how my love for a musician can survive something like the awfulness of that particular relationship break up. But I’m so happy it did.

This happy.

Once I’d heard ‘Love Story’, I was hooked. I just didn’t know it yet, which is hilarious to me now considering I was then already known as “the guy who likes Taylor Swift” at work. Oh but they had no idea what I would become.

Slowly I became aware of more and more of Taylors songs, starting with ‘You Belong With Me’, then ‘I Knew You Were Trouble’, then ’22’ and then ‘Mine’. Suddenly I was obsessed. The honesty in her words broke me down and built me up all at once.

Especially in the song ’22’, and I just about lose my shit every time I hear it. It might be one of my most favourite songs ever. With lyrics like “We’re happy, free, confused and lonely at the same time/in the best way,” and “It feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters, and make fun of our exes,” the song just really resonates with me. Plus, it’s nice to pretend I’m 22 again when I’m singing along.

In case you were wondering, yes I am listening to Taylor Swift right now, by the way. Current song is ‘Tell Me Why’ from Fearless. I’ve actually never heard this song before, but, naturally, it’s really good.

No really, Taylor! I like it a lot!

To give you an idea of just how much Taylor Swift and her music help me through my days – last night I was adamant that today I was going to write. I was going to spend as long as it took to do a post on making excuses, then I went to sleep. This morning, I woke up at 11 and I just felt like crap – partially the alcohol, but mostly just not feeling very good about myself – and I decided “fuck that”, and just stayed in bed.

Around 1pm, for reasons unknown, Taylor popped into my mind and I started thinking about what it would be like to meet her in person. I ranted on twitter about her for about ten minutes, and then I realised; I actually have a damn good reason to talk about Taylor Swift at length. So I said “fuck this” and got out of bed. I’ve been in the library writing this for about an hour so far.

The only way the combination could be improved would be to add Avril Lavigne.

By the way, if you haven’t seen Kristen Bell’s “sloth meltdown” I really think you should click that link at your earliest convenience. Among things that make me happy, it’s pretty high on the list. And don’t be tempted to skip ahead in the video either, the lead-up doesn’t take long and it’s worth watching.

So anyway, back to Taylor Swift. You might think that I’m using this post as an excuse to look at pictures of Taylor Swift on google, but you’d be wrong. I don’t need an excuse to look at pictures of Taylor Swift on google thank you very much. It’s something I do fairly regularly. Because I love her.

I recently bought her ‘Fearless’ album on iTunes as a result of a Cracked.com article about the shit musicians do to squeeze more money out of their fans. It was the platinum edition of the album, which comes with several music videos and behind-the-scenes clips. I think of this mainly because one of the clips is from back stage at the first show for her Fearless tour and it made me laugh. At one point in the clip, there are a bunch of girls in a hallway near where Taylor is getting ready for the show and they’re chanting her name. The camera pans to Taylor and she says “I think I’m gonna go say hi,” and she walks down the hall to where the girls are. As soon as she walks through the door and the girls see her, about ten or so metres away, the chanting stops and they all just start screaming. Like losing-their-minds screaming. I guess the really awesome thing about it though is Taylors reaction: she’s surprised.

Okay well maybe not that surprised.

See that’s one of the reasons why I like Taylor Swift as a person, as well as a musician: She’s humble. Maybe not always, but I’m sure it’s hard to stay entirely humble when your bank account has more digits in its balance than its account number. In another behind-the-scenes clip from that album, she mentions how sometimes she just stops and looks around at her life and says to herself “Really? …Really?” and thinks about how never in her dreams did she think she would ever become so popular.

By the way, I know it’s hard for some people to believe that pretty girls are surprised that they’re popular, but I think that’s a misconception (not always, of course) and I might do a blog post on it someday if I ever have a blog where that would be appropriate. But this one isn’t. It’s about sad things and drunk things and Taylor Swift things.

I looked this good when I was 22, too.

I guess a big reason why I am so obsessed with this woman is just how well she words her songs. When I listen to her lyrics, whether it’s a sad song or a happy song or just a thoughtful song, I know exactly what she means to say. I understand perfectly, and sometimes I can even relate. I get that from some songs by some other artists, but it’s pretty uncommon. The only other musicians I have ever felt that way about were Avril Lavigne and Eminem when I was 16 and 17, or Ani diFranco in my early-to-mid 20s.

I admire her, too, for her talent – all of her songs are her own. And I believe much of the music behind the words is hers too. Taylor doesn’t need or want to rely on sex appeal like any other young pop star you could care to mention. Katy Perry has several songs in a similar vein to Taylors, about relationships and emotions, but if you weren’t aware of how heavily she relies on her body to promote herself you’re either unaware of her entirely or you’re blind. Taylor still manages to look great in baggy shirts and jeans, or giant “Romeo & Juliet”-era corsets and dresses, as opposed to having only her most private of privates concealed loosely by a cloud. She sells herself, first and foremost, as a musician and a human being. I really, really like that about her.

Pictured: A human being and totally not a goddess.

The only other artist I still hold in such high regard, or higher even, for many of these same reasons is the afore mentioned Ani diFranco. Admittedly her music typically doesn’t make me quite as happy as Taylor does now, but if Taylor won’t marry me then Ani would be my second choice. Ani will always have a place in my heart.

Taylor, if you’re reading this (and I know you are), please know that I love you and everything you do. Please never change. You’re my favourite.

P.S. If you’re not Taylor Swift, I couldn’t find a good video to share with you but I think you should look for ‘Thug Story’ on YouTube or Google. It features T-Pain. Just sayin’.

One thought on “Music as Therapy 2: The Swiftening

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.